Cooperation with economic organizations

  • Created 12.05.2017 09:21
  • Updated 19.04.2019 12:08
  • Published 12.05.2017 09:21



General information. The Commonwealth of Independent States was founded on 8 December 1991 by the Belorussia SSR, the Russian SFSR and the Ukraine SSR. The agreement consisted on Preamble and 14 articles declared the abolishment of USSR as a subject of international law. However, due to historical unity and existence of crucial bonds between the region states the creation of Commonwealth of Independent States was necessary at the time. On 21 December 1991, the leaders of eight additional former Soviet Republics – Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan – signed the Alma-Ata Declaration that stated the abolishment of USSR, creation of CIS, also reflecting the aims and principles of new organization. The organizational period was terminated in 1993, 22nd of January, in Minsk by signing the principal document of organization – The Charter.

Member States. Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

 Objectives. Cooperation within the framework of this organization, established for the purpose of preserving intergovernmental relations between former USSR countries, is aimed at determining the directions of economic integration among the member states.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan. Azerbaijan has created the free trade regimes with all member states (except Armenia), legal framework for free investment was compiled. Azerbaijan participates in the implementation of the Strategy of Economic Development of CIS till 2020, according to the Action Plan the information about the accomplished measures is presented to the Executive Committee of CIS. Furthermore, the appropriate reports about Azerbaijani business climate, privileges to investors, free economic zones, industrial and SciTech parks are included to the Review. The Report about trade policy of Azerbaijan has been regularly updated, the last overview of which was post on the official site of CIS in 2017.

Representatives of the Ministry of Economy participate in the meetings of the Working Groups on the preparation of the Economic Development Strategy for the period till 2030.

← Back