Cooperation with economic organizations

  • Created 01.10.2012 11:12
  • Updated 07.11.2017 10:52
  • Published 01.10.2012 11:12

Organization of Islamic Cooperation

General Information about the organization: Organization of Islamic Conference (now-Organization of Islamic Cooperation - OIC) was established at the Summit of the Heads of States and Governmets of the Moslim countris in Morocco in September of 1969. The OIC is closely collaborate with UN and got a observer status under the UN from 1975.

Member States: Afghanistan, Albania, Azerbaijan, Aljazeera, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Cote Devour, Ghana, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libyan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambican, Niger, previous, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Yemen.

Object: The main purposes of the organization is consisiting of strengthenening of islamic solidarity among member-states, supporting of coorporation on science, culture, social, economic and other areas, implementing consultations in other international organizations, promoting of cancelation of racial discrimination and any form of colonization, ensuring of safety and international peace on the basis of justicy, guaranteing of inviolability and liberation of occupied holy territories, supporting of the struggle on liberating of territories and restoration of Palestinian people's rights, collaboration of member states with other countries and creation of mutual understanding conditions.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan: After the restoration of its independence Azerbaijan is the first country from other former Soviet republics that applied to be a member of OIC and became a member in 1991. OIC condemned the Armenian aggression to Azerbaijan and approved a resolutions related to the interest of Azerbaijan in either the Summit Conferences or Foreign Ministers' Conferences. Number of Resolutions on Economic Assistance to the Republic of Azerbaijan was affirmed within framework of OIC for the purposes of providing a necessary aid to our country. The 33th Foreign Ministers' Conference of organization was held in Baku. The 35th assembly of Directors' Council of Islamic Development Bank of OIC.

The strategy of the Standing Committee for Economic and Commercial Cooperation of the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation (COMCEC) was adopted during the 4th Extraordinary Islamic Summit held in Makah on 14-15 August 2012. COMCEC strategy envisages Working Group Meetings as one of the instruments for its implementation. Through the Working Groups, country experts get the chance of elaborating the issues thoroughly in the respective cooperation areas and sharing their good practices and experience. The Working Groups are established for each cooperation area defined by the Strategy, namely Trade, Transport and Communication, Tourism, Agriculture, Poverty Alleviation, and Finance.
The first meetings of the Working Group on Trade and Poverty Alleviation were held on June 20 and 27 relevantly in Ankara, the Republic of Turkey. The representatives of the Ministry of Economic Development attended the meetings.

← Back