Cooperation with economic organizations

  • Created 01.10.2012 11:11
  • Updated 26.01.2016 12:19
  • Published 01.10.2012 11:11

Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSECO)


General information: Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization was established with the signing of Istanbul Declaration on June 25, 1992. The organization got its status with signing of Yalta Resolution by Heads of state and government of member countries in Yalta on June 5, 1998 (come into force on May 1, 1999). The initiative of creating the organization is belong to Turkey.

Member States: Azerbaijan, Albania, Bulgaria, Armenia, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Romania, Turkey, Greece, Ukraine, Serbia.

Object: The organization was established in order to define major directions of regional cooperation and develop the relation among regional countries.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan: Azerbaijan is a member of the organization since 1992. The Republic of Azerbaijan took part in the preparation and adoption of more than 11 varieties of official documents, meetings of relevant working groups within the framework of BSEC, hitherto. The Republic of Azerbaijan has coordinated the activity of working group on energy over 2005-2007. Azerbaijan also takes part in the Black Sea ring highway road construction project, that drawn up to develop the Black Sea region and to strengthen cooperation. According to the decision of the 20th meeting of BSEC Council of Ministers for Foreign Affairs held on 15-16 April, 2009, Azerbaijan was the chairman of the organization for six months period from May 1, 2009.

On June 26, 2012 the 20th anniversary of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization Summit was held in Istanbul with the participation of President Ilham Aliyev.
On 18-19 October 2012, the meeting of the Working Group on Trade and Cooperation of Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization was held in Istanbul, Turkey.

A meeting of the ministers of economy of the member states was held in Yalta on May 23, 2013.

← Back